Driving With A Suspended License

Facing A Driving With A Suspended License Charge?

Last updated on February 4, 2021

A charge or conviction related to DWI often comes with license suspension. Even though this might be a temporary situation, if you are charged with driving with a suspended license, there are further potential penalties.

This is not a matter to take lightly and requires serious criminal defense representation. My name is Barbara Wilkanowski. As an experienced criminal defense attorney in Flushing, New York, I have the knowledge and skills to defend you against such serious charges.

It is important that you seek counsel immediately. Call my Queens office today at 866-308-7620 for a free consultation to discuss what happened.

Penalties If Convicted Of Driving With A Suspended License

New York does not take suspended license charges lightly. Driving with a suspended license can also lead to AUO charges (aggravated unlicensed operation). Depending on the degree of severity, the penalties can increase. The court will look at your record, any criminal history and other traffic violations.

The potential penalties include:

  • Third-degree AUO: A misdemeanor charge with up to 30 days of jail time and $500 in fines
  • Second-degree AUO: A misdemeanor charge with up to 180 days of jail time and a $500 minimum in fines
  • First-degree AUO: A felony charge with potential state prison time and up to $5,000 in fines

In addition to potential fines, surcharges can drive costs even higher. As you can see, the penalties are significant in New York. The best thing you can do is to consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer about your charges.

Talk To Me Today About Your Case

I offer free initial consultations. Do not wait; act quickly. Contact me online to schedule your appointment at your earliest convenience. I am here to help you get your life back on track.